What does the status of an authorization object mean?
In the Authorizations tab of a role are the authorisation objects and their values.
These value sets form the profile authorizations which get loaded into the user buffer. To help monitor and manage the authorization objects in the roles, each authorization object set has an associated status.
- Standard: The authorization values in the role are the same as those configured in SU24 for the relevant transaction/s. When the relevant transaction/s is removed from the role menu, the corresponding authorization object/s are removed.
- Maintained: Where an object has been maintained for a transaction in SU24, but the values are not fully defined, the object appears in the role with one or more empty fields. When these fields are updated then the object status is "maintaned". As with objects in status "standard", removing the relevant transaction/s from the menu will result in the object/s being removed from the authorizations tab. Changed: When the authorization object values are changed from the proposal values configured in SU24, the object status is "changed". This removes the link between the object and the related transactions. If you remove a menu transaction the objects configured for it are in "changed" status, those objects will remain in the role. For this reason it is recommended that SU24 is configured correctly to remove the need to have authorization objects in "changed" status.
- Manually: Authorization objects can be manually added to roles to provide additional authorization over and above that configured in SU24. As with authorization objects in "changed" status, there is no link to any menu transactions. When used correctly, manually added authorization objects can be very effective in situations where updating SU24 is not desirable. If not documented or managed correctly they can also facilitate authorization creep in a build.